Blugrass Stuff Foto

Bluegrass Stuff

Bluegrass Stuff is one of the oldest bluegrass bands in Europe, having been active since 1977. The band's style is traditional, with a sound and approach that embraces the classic bluegrass of Bill Monroe, Flatt & Scruggs, Jimmy Martin and the Stanley Brothers.

Bluegrass Stuff has performed all over Italy and Europe, gaining a strong following everywhere. The band has appeared at some of the major international festivals in Italy (Torino, Milano, Tradate, Brescia, Pescara), France (Toulouse, Craponne sur Arzon, La Roche sur Foron), Germany (Güglingen, Neusudende, Bühl), Switzerland (Basel, Münchwilen, Melide, Stetten, Deredinger, Olten, Schaffausen, Willisau, Thün, Albisgütli), Nederland (EWOB) sharing the stage with such major acts as Bluegrass Cardinals, The Nashville Bluegrass Band, Country Gazette and Tim O' Brien.

Bluegrass Stuff has also played with bluegrass greats Peter Rowan, Kenny Baker, Josh Graves, Jim Eanes, Bill Keith, Jim Rooney, Randy Howard and has appeared many times on both local and national radio and TV programs. Bluegrass Stuff released several recordings and in 1995 produced "Golden Horn" the first italian bluegrass CD. The band was placed 1st at the audience award "Group of the Year" during the European Bluegrass Festival in Voorthuizen NL, the highlight of the European World of Bluegrass 2002. Bluegrass Stuff were awarded 1st place European Bluegrass Band of the Year at EWOB 2004 in Vöringer - Germany and at EWOB 2006 in La Roche sur Foron - France

More information: Bluegrass Stuff
 
Jumpers cable Foto

The Jumper Cables

Original acoustic music from the Czech Republic

The Jumper Cables came together to make music. Exploring the possibilities of their acoustic instruments to create compelling arrangements and powerful songs. The band's debut album Miner's Daughter was released in 2015. Since then, the band has constantly been working on new material, playing their music for people all around Europe.

  • Tomáš Jabran
  • Michal Wawrzycze
  • Lukáš Ritter
  • Michal Kunc
  • Charles Zghany
More Information: Jumper Cables
 
Lonesome Wagoneers Foto

The Lonesome Wagoneers

The Lonesome Wagoneers are a Bluegrassband from the heart of Germany and have dedicated themselves to the original bluegrass of the 40s to 60s. Earthy, honestly and unadulterated, they reach and inspire the audience with harmony singing, mandolin, banjo, fiddle, guitar and bass. Even listeners who encounter this music live for the first time can be approached by the rhythm and attitude to life. Five men, five voices and five stringed instruments take the hearts of listeners on a journey to the roots of modern country and pop music. The journey takes you to the east of North America, to the vast plains of Kentucky, the blue mountains of the Appalachian Mountains, to the blues of the south and the Celtic melodies of Ireland. The bluegrass of the Lonesome Wagoneers merge cultures and traditions to a musical mix^, that simply makes you feel good.

  • Björn Kunze – Mandolin, Vocals
  • Hannes Lund – Guitar, Vocals
  • Reto Kunze – Bass, Vocals
  • Rolf Schild – Banjo, Vocals
  • Steffen Dittmar – Fiddle, Vocals
More information: The Lonesome Wagoneers
 
The Looping Brothers

The Looping Brothers

On the road alone in Europe and the USA, or as a backing band for American stars: The Looping Brothers can rightly be regarded as one of the outstanding bluegrass formations in Europe. Bluegrass was born out of folk, blues and old-time music in the Appalachian Mountains, in the southeastern United States. From there, it is now widespread all over the world. Today, bluegrass is an important and innovative influence of new North American folk music and is also finding a growing number of followers in Europe. Unlike electric, loud music and electronic pop, they rely on grounded and handmade music: As with jazz, virtuoso improvisations are sprinkled in by the acoustic instruments, but in the case of bluegrass they often rely on breakneck speed. Listeners can look forward to an authentically played American music, fine-tuned triple harmony paired with a dose of Westphalian humour!

  • Ulli Sieker-lead - Vocals, mandolin, fiddle, guitar
  • Matthias Malcher - Vocals, guitar, banjo
  • Ralf Strotmann - Vocals, Bass
More Information: The Looping Brothers
 
Monroe Crossing Foto

Monroe Crossing

"Minnesota's Premier Bluegrass & Gospel Quintet"

Named in honor of Bill Monroe, “The Father of Bluegrass Music,” Monroe Crossing dazzles audiences with an electrifying blend of classic bluegrass, bluegrass gospel, and heartfelt originals. Their superb musicianship and on-stage rapport have entertained audiences across the United States, Canada and Europe.

Based in the Twin Cities of Minnesota, Monroe Crossing plays an average of 150 shows a year in intimate rooms, at major venues, and outdoor festivals. They are favorites among bluegrass connoisseurs and non-bluegrass audiences alike. They love introducing newcomers to bluegrass music!

Monroe Crossing is made up of five very distinct personalities with differing musical backgrounds. When combined, their individual histories make for a very unique ensemble sound.

Because they met through the music of Bill Monroe, they like to say they had a “Monroe Crossing.”

Among their many honors, Monroe Crossing was awarded "Bluegrass Album of the Year" by the Minnesota Music Academy in 2003. In 2007, they were inducted into the Minnesota Music Hall of Fame. They have twice been selected to showcase at the annual “World of Bluegrass” convention hosted by the International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA) and they have appeared twice at Carnegie Hall in New York City. In 2016, Monroe Crossing had the honor of being the first Minnesota bluegrass band to ever perform in South Korea.

Monroe Crossing has recorded 15 CDs to date. Their latest release is entitled, "Monroe Crossing Plays Classic Country." It is a collection of cover songs from the golden era of country music (1950s & '60s). Songs from George Jones, Ray Price, Patsy Cline, Hank Williams and Johnny Cash are brought back to life with bluegrass instrumentation and that special Monroe Crossing vocal blend.

Whether playing traditional bluegrass, bluegrass gospel, original bluegrass, or even songs outside the bluegrass genre, Monroe Crossing is one of the most active and most entertaining acts on the bluegrass scene today!

  • Derek Johnson - Guitar, lead vocals
  • Lisa Fuglie - Fiddle, Mandolin, Guitar, lead vocals
  • Matt Thompson - Mandolin, Fiddle, harmony vocals
  • Mark Anderson - Bass, Bass vocals
  • David Robinson - Banjo, Dobro, Harmonica, Harmony vocals
More information: Monroe Crossing
 
Rawhid Foto

Rawhide

Rawhide is going into its 40th year of existence and has been renowned in Europe for stretching the boundaries of bluegrass towards other styles of music such as barbershop, classical, swing and pop. Their live shows combine a variety of tasteful instrumental and vocal music with lots of humour, both during and between the songs. A show with Rawhide is always special and different than with any other bluegrass band. With Rawhide you can expect the unexpected.

  • Jeff Cardey: Mandolin
  • Dirk Fonteyn: Fiddle
  • Dimitri Laveren: Bass
  • Dirk Peeraer: Dobro
  • Thierry Schoysman: Banjo
  • Bert Van Bortel: Guitar
More Information: Rawhide
 
Sacred Sound of Grass Foto

Sacred Sounds Of Grass

The group Sacred Sounds Of Grass is the oldest active bluegrass band in Germany with its founding date of 1979. With its classic bluegrass sound, the group is also internationally regarded as the most authentic bluegrassBand traded outside the US. There was Sacred Sounds Of Grass on 3 tours, in 1989, 1990 and 1993, at renowned Bluegrass festivals frenetically celebrated. Their sound is characterized by vocal and instrumental perfection. The Gruppe can also look back on numerous live radio appearances and TV productions. Her skills have also often been proven as a backing band of US artists on tour. In 1998, Thilo was named the best banjo player in Europe in Vienna.

  • Thilo Hain: Banjo, Vocals
  • Sam Hain: Mandoline, Vocals
  • Alfred Bonk: Kontrabass, Vocals
  • Heiko Ahrend: Gitarre, Vocals
More Information: Sacred Sounds Of Grass

Blugrass Stuff Foto

Bluegrass Stuff

Bluegrass Stuff Ist eine der ältesten Bluegrass Bands in Europa. Sie sind aktiv seit 1977. Der Stil der Band Ist traditionell. Sound und Ansatz umfassen den klassischen Bluegrass von Bill Monroe, Flach & Scruggs, Jimmy Martin und das Stanley Brothers.

Bluegrass Stuff performten in Italien sowie in ganz Europa und konnten überall eine starke Anhängerschaft gewinnen. Die Band trat auf einigen der wichtigsten Festivals in Italien(Turin, Mailand, Tradate, Brescia, Pescara), Frankreich (Toulouse, Craponne Auf Arzon, The Rock Auf Foron), Germany (Güglingen, Neusüdende, Bühl), Schweiz (Basel, Münchwilen, Melide, Stetten, Deredinger, Olten, Schaffausen, Willisau, Thün, Albisgütli), Niederlande (EWOB) auf. Sie teilten die Bühne mit Bluegrass-Größen wie The Nashville Bluegrass Band, Country Gazette und Tim O ' Brien, außerdem spielten sie mit Größen wie Peter Rowan, Kenny Baker, Josh Graves, Jim Eanes, Bill Keith, Jim Rooney, Randy Howard.

Sie traten auf vielen lokalen und nationale Radio- und TV Programme auf. Bluegrass Stuff veröffentlichten mehrere Aufnahmen und sie produzierten 1995 mit "Goldenes Horn" die erste italienische Bluegrass CD. Die Band errang 2002 den 1. Platz des Publikum-Awards "Gruppe des Jahres " beim European Bluegrass Festival in Voorthuizen, einem Highlight der europäischen Bluegrasswelt. Außerdem wurden sie als „European Bluegrass Band des Jahres“ beim EWOB 2004 in Vöringer (Deutschland) und EWOB 2006 in La Roche fur Foron (Frankreich) ausgezeichnet.

Weitere informationen: Bluegrass Stuff
 
Jumpers cable Foto

The Jumper Cables

"Original Akustische Musik Von das Tschechisch Republik"

Die Jumper Cables kamen zusammen um Musik zu machen, die Möglichkeiten ihrer akustische Instrumente zu entdecken, überzeugende Arrangements und mächtige Songs zu schaffen. Die Band veröffentlichte 2015 ihr Debüt-Album „Miner's Daughter“ Seitdem arbeitet die Band konstant an neuem Material und spielen ihre Musik für alle Menschen in ganz Europa.

Mitglieder der Band:

  • Tomáš Jabran
  • Michal Wawrzycze
  • Lukáš Ritter
  • Michal Kunc
  • Charles Zghany
Weitere Informationen: Jumper Cables
 
Lonesome Wagoneers Foto

The Lonesome Wagoneers

Die Lonesome Wagoneers sind eine Bluegrassband aus dem Herzen Deutschlands und haben sich dem ursprünglichen Bluegrass der 40er bis 60er Jahre verschrieben. Erdig, ehrlich und unverfälscht erreichen und begeistern sie das Publikum mit Harmoniegesang, Mandoline, Banjo, Fiddle, Gitarre und Kontrabass. Auch Hörer, die dieser Musik zum ersten Mal live begegnen, lassen sich von dem Rhythmus und Lebensgefühl mitreissen.

Fünf Männer, fünf Stimmen und fünf Saiteninstrumente nehmen die Herzen der Hörer mit auf eine Reise zu den Wurzeln der modernen Country- und Popmusik. Die Reise führt in den Osten Nordamerikas, zu den weiten Ebenen Kentuckys, den blauen Bergen der Appalachen, zum Blues des Südens und den keltischen Melodien Irlands. So verschmelzen im Bluegrass der Lonesome Wagoneers Kulturen und Traditionen zu einem musikalischen Gemisch, das einfach gute Laune macht.

  • Björn Kunze – Mandoline, Gesang
  • Hannes Lund – Gitarre, Gesang
  • Reto Kunze – Bass, Gesang
  • Rolf Schild – Banjo, Gesang
  • Steffen Dittmar – Geige, Gesang
Weitere Informationen: The Lonesome Wagoneers
 
The Looping Brothers

The Looping Brothers

Allein unterwegs in Europa und USA, oder als Begleitband amerikanischer Stars: Die Looping Brothers dürfen mit Recht als eine der herausragenden Bluegrass-Formationen Europas gelten. Bluegrass entstand aus Folk, Blues und Oldtime-Musik in den Appalachen, im Südosten der USA. Von dort ausgehend ist es mittlerweile in der ganzen Welt verbreitet. Heute ist Bluegrass ein wichtiger und auch innovativer Einfluss der neuen nordamerikanischen Folk Musik und findet auch in Europa eine wachsende Zahl von Anhängern. Die setzen im Gegensatz zu elektrischer, lauter Musik und elektronischem Pop auf geerdete und handgemachte Musik: Wie beim Jazz werden virtuose Improvisationen von den akustischen Instrumenten eingestreut, beim Bluegrass allerdings oft in halsbrecherischer Geschwindigkeit. Die Zuhörer dürfen sich freuen auf eine authentisch gespielte, amerikanische Musik, feinjustierten dreifachen Harmoniegesang gepaart mit einer Portion Westfälischen Humors!

  • Ulli Sieker - Gesang, Mandoline, Geige, Gitarre
  • Matthias Malcher- Gesang, Gitarre, Banjo
  • Ralf Strotmann - Gesang, Bass
 
Weitere Informationen: The Looping Brothers
 
Monroe Crossing Foto

Monroe Crossing

Minnesota's Premier Bluegrass & Gospel Quintet benannt zu Ehren von Bill Monroe, "Der Vater von Bluegrass Music " Monroe Crossing begeistert das Publikum mit einer elektrisierenden Mischung aus klassischem Bluegrass, Bluegrass Gospel und tiefempfundenen Originals. Ihre hervorragende Musikalität und ihr harmonisches Verhältnis auf der Bühne unterhalten das Publikum in den USA, Kanada und Europa.

Monroe Crossing spielt durchschnittlich 150 Konzerte im Jahr, sowohl in kleinen Räumen als auch in großen Veranstaltungsorten und Outdoor-Festivals. Sie sind gleichermaßen Favoriten unter Bluegrass Kennern als auch nicht-Bluegrass Publikum. Sie lieben es Neulinge an die Bluegrass Musik heranzuführen.

Monroe Crossing besteht aus fünf sehr unterschiedlichen Persönlichkeiten mit unterschiedlichen musikalischen Hintergründen. Das Zusammenwirken ihrer individuellen musikalischen Geschichten erzeugen einen einzigartigen Sound.

Weil sie sich durch die Musik von Monroe Crossing getroffen haben, sagen sie gern „we had a Monroe Crossing“

Neben vielen Ehrungen wurden Monroe Crossing 2003 mit dem "Bluegrass Album des Jahres" von der Minnesota Music Academy 2003ar ausgezeichnet. Von das Minnesota Music Academy 2003. 2007 wurden sie in die „Minnesota Music Hall of Fame“ aufgenommen. Sie wurden zweimal als Vorzeigeprojekt des jährlichen "Welt von Bluegrass“ Kongresses, veranstaltet vom Internationalen Bluegrass-Musik Verband (IBMA), ausgezeichnet und sie hatten 2016 zwei Auftritte in der Carnegie Hall in New York City. Monroe Crossing hatten die Ehre als erste Minnesota Bluegrass Band in Südkorea aufzutreten.

Monroe Crossing haben bisher 15 CDs veröffentlicht. Ihre neueste CD titelt "Monroe Crossing Plays Classic Country." Sie enthält eine Sammlung von Coversongs von den goldenen Zeiten der Country Music (50er und 60er Jahre). Songs von George Jones, Ray Price, Patsy Cline, Hank Williams and Johnny Cash. Sie erwecken sie mit Bluegrass Instrumentierung und der besonderen Monroe Crossing Vocal Mischung zu neuem Leben.

Ob sie traditional bluegrass, bluegrass gospel, original bluegrass, oder auch Songs außerhalb des Bluegrass Genres spielen, Monroe Crossing sind eine der aktivsten und unterhaltsamsten Vertreter der heutigen Bluegrass Szene.

  • Derek Johnson - Gitarre, lead vocals
  • Lisa Fuglie - Geige, Mandoline, Gitarre, lead vocals
  • Matt Thompson - Mandoline, Geige, harmony vocals
  • Mark Anderson - Bass, Bass vocals
  • David Robinson - Banjo, Dobro, Harmonica, Harmony vocals
Weitere informationen: Monroe Crossing
 
Rawhid Foto

Rawhide

Rawhide geht mittlerweile in das 40. Jahr des Bestehens. Sie testen die Grenzen von Bluegrass gegenüber anderen Musikstilen, wie barbershop, classical, swing and pop, aus. In ihren Liveshows kombinieren sie eine Vielfalt geschmackvoller Instrumental- und Vocal Musik mit viel Humor, während und zwischen den Songs. Eine Show mit Rawhide ist immer besonders und anders als Shows anderer Bluegrass Bands. Mit Rawhide erwartet dich das Unerwartete….

  • Jeff Cardey: Mandoline
  • Dirk Fonteyn: Geige
  • Dimitri Laveren: Bass
  • Dirk Peeraer: Dobro
  • Thierry Schoysman: Banjo
  • Bert Van Bortel: Gitarre
Weitere Informationen: Rawhide 
 
Sacred Sound of Grass Foto

Sacred Sounds Of Grass

Die Gruppe Sacred Sounds Of Grass gilt als die älteste, aktive Bluegrass Band Deutschlands mit Gründungsdatum 1979. Mit ihrem klassischen Bluegrass Sound wird die Gruppe international auch als die authentischste Bluegrass-Band außerhalb der USA gehandelt. Dort wurde Sacred Sounds Of Grass auf 3 Tourneen, in den Jahren 1989, 1990 und 1993, bei renomierten Bluegrass-Festivals frenetisch gefeiert. Ihr Sound ist charakterisiert von vokaler und instrumentaler Perfektion. Die Gruppe kann darüber hinaus auf zahlreiche live-Radioauftritte und TV-Produktionen zurückblicken. Ihr Können wurde auch oft als Begleitband von US-Künstlern auf Tournee bewiesen. 1998 wird Thilo in Wien zum besten Banjospieler Europas gekürt.

  • Thilo Hain: Banjo, Gesang
  • Sam Hain: Mandoline, Gesang
  • Alfred Bonk: Kontrabass, Gesang
  • Heiko Ahrend: Gitarre, Gesang
Weitere Informationen: Sacred Sounds Of Grass